Town of Amherst recognizes volunteers

Amherst’s deputy-mayor heaped praised on more than 40 volunteers who have striven to improve the lives of their fellow residents during an April 17 ceremony at the Community Credit Union Business Innovation Centre.

“You guys are the backbone of the community,” Sheila Christie said. “If we didn’t have volunteers like you, this community wouldn’t continue to be the kind vibrant community that it is.”

The volunteer recognition ceremony was one of her favourite events of the year “because we get to recognize people like you,” Christie told those in attendance.20180418 Volunteer 1B TM

Quoting former British prime minister Winston Churchill, Christie said. “ ‘We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give.’ I think everyone here knows that to be exactly true.

 “I wish all of you congratulations on the awards and celebrate them because you deserve them.”

Among those nominated to be recognized were:

  • Daren White, Amherst’s volunteer of the year for his participation in many volunteer activities including the Relay for Life and the Terry Fox Run as well as the annual zombie walk and snowman challenge and his creative ways to raise money for a variety of charities.
  • Lawry, Mary, Owen and Ben MacLeod, who were named the town’s volunteer family for their work with Showcase Productions
  • Rohin Mckenney, who was named youth volunteer of the year for his work with Amherst youth town council and Amherst Regional High School student council as well as his efforts as a peer counsellor and volunteer with the ARHS EBC Band and Choir Association, the Hindu Temple, Cumberland Pride and more.
  • Betsy Prager, Will Rodd, Sari Stiles, Mike Stiles, Bruce Cuco, Terrie Cuco, Leslie Gratton, Dan Matthews, Cathy Shewfelt, Shelly Hallman and Rob Roy, for their work on the Amherst Community Christimas Dinner committee
  • Maria Kirkpatrick for her work with the Holy Family Catholic Women’s League
  • Randy Parsons for his work with the Canadian Red Cross
  • Barbara Best for her work with the Victoria Quilts Canada Tantramar Branch
  • Anne Lawless for her work with the Lord Amherst Chapter of the IODE
  • Gwen Kerr for her work with the Amherst Area Zonta Club
  • Robin Keith, a volunteer with the Amherst Curling Club
  • Rubin Millard, a volunteer with the Amherst Lions Club
  • Carol Dempsey and Annie Bourgeois for their work with the Amherst 50-Plus Club
  • Alan Chapman, Ralph MacDonald, Corrine Porter and Sharlene Carter-Earle for their volunteer efforts with the Amherst Ramblers
  • Patricia Harrington for her work with the Amherst Alzheimer Caregiver Support Group
  • Caitlin Carter for her work with the Cumberland Restorative Justice Society
  • Gary Bowser for his work with the Cumberland Shrine Club
  • John Covert for his work with the Amherst Food Assistance Network Association
  • The late Judy Jonah for her work with the Cumberland Health Care Auxiliary. (Her award was accepted by Heather LeMoine)
  • Katelyn Walsh for her work with Fundy Youth Soccer
  • Marilyn Boudreau for her work with the Cumberland County Hospice Palliative Care Society, First Baptist Church, Cumberland Health Care Hospital Auxiliary and Reception Desk and Kidney Foundation
  • Michelle Kane for her work with Empowering Beyond Barriers
  • Mike Landry for his work with 258 Royal Canadian Sea Cadet Corps and the Amherst Navy League
  • Pam Chenhall for her work with Amherst Minor Basketball
  • Ronald Wilson for his work with the Rotary Club of Amherst
  • Sharon Merrill for her work with the Amherst Y’s Menettes
  • Sydney Calder for volunteering with MADD Cumberland Tantramar
  • Marney Gilroy for her work with the Cumberland County Genealogical Society
  • Wanda Smith for her work with Autumn House
  • Ida Roode for her work with the Tantramar Chaper IODE
  • Curtis Michaelis and Railyn Cann for their work with Fundy Youth Soccer; and,
  • Aaron Froese for his work with Fundy Youth Soccer and Cumberland Sporting Club.